Lekala Dress with Wrap Skirt

Pattern: Lekala Dress with Wrap Skirt
Description: A stylish dress with square neckline and mid length open wrap skirt.
Fabric used: Cotton Sateen, Polyester and Rayon.

I have the tendency to absolutely fall head over heals in love with certain patterns. What happens when I love, love, love a pattern is I make it in every single shape, colour and stlye to change it into a completely different fit from the last. I started off with the basic pattern from Lekala and as soon as I made it I knew it was my dream dress.

Version One – Basic Pattern

This first dress was created with a cotton sateen and the fit was perfect. Although I could see myself making it in a number of different fabrics and changing it slightly each time. Here is what happened once I started to alter the pattern.

Version Two

Firstly, I changed it to a sleeveless dress. In all of the dress versions I omitted the part on the neckline that goes into the collarbone, making it a standard fit. Secondly, I changed the front neckline to have more of a sweetheart curve, dipping down.

download

You can also purchase this fabric on my SixteenStitches Spoonflower page if you’re looking to create the same dress! There are a few options available in different colours too.

Version Three

This dress used a Polyester/Rayon top and Cotton Sateen skirt.  I have kept the sweetheart neckline in this version as well.

Version Four

This is where I have started to alter and play with the length of the skirt. I have made the right side longer so it wraps around and joins the left skirt, which is the normal length. I saw this done on Hello Molly Clothing site and loved it.

This dress is perfect for almost any occasion, race day, beach, festival, casual date, movies you name it. You can dress it up or down and is without a doubt my favourite dress pattern. Plus, it’s so easy to make!

This is the dress I even wore to a festival in Las Vegas the previous year!

IMG_3330IMG_3332

The funny thing is I still have more version of this dress at home. I just ran out of time taking photos. When you’ve make it more than five times I think you can be sure that you’ve found a winner of a pattern! Well done Lekala, well done!

2 thoughts on “Lekala Dress with Wrap Skirt

  1. Pingback: 50’s Pop Art Costume | sixteenstitches

  2. Pingback: More Lekala Dresses | sixteen stitches

Leave a Reply

