BurdaStyle Smocked Dress

Pattern: BurdaStyle Smocked Back Dress
Description: This heavenly corset style dress is lovely and versatile with a front snap placket, hip pockets, and a fitted smocked back bodice. It is easy to make with sewing instructions that have step-by-step images so even if this is your first sewing project you’ll be able to follow along!
Fabric used: Blue lightweight denim and Black Cotton Sateen

This BurdaStyle pattern is just soooo cute! It said easy in the description and it certainly was. I managed to knock this dress out while I was watching an episode of Outlander! (Minus the hand sewing and fabric covered buttons)

burdastyle-smock-1

burdastyle-smock-2

burdastyle-smock-3

I made this dress in a lightweight polka dot denim and I really didn’t think coloured buttons would work so I created my own fabric covered buttons to match! I was so excited and happy with the result and it was ready to wear the very next day.

burdastyle-smock-3a

Since I always do a tester dress this was my original and why I wanted to create a pretty denim one. I can safely say that it works in both denim and cotton stretch. For the dark version below I ended up sneaking over to my parents house and used my mum’s snap press machine for the buttons. You can’t even see them, which is awesome 🙂

burdastyle-smock-4burdastyle-smock-5

Obviously I didn’t add the straps just because I don’t really have any strapless dresses but I thought it worked pretty well. It’s tight enough that it doesn’t fall down either. The fit was pretty much perfect, which is normally the case with me and BurdaStyle sizing. Another reason why I love their patterns.

Overall it’s a really great, easy and a cute pattern. I highly recommend to others if you’re looking for a quick, pretty dress to wear on the weekend.

Happy Sewing! Erin xx

6 thoughts on “BurdaStyle Smocked Dress

  1. Pingback: New Look 6107 Skirt | sixteenstitches

Leave a Reply

