Vogue 1449 Dress

Pattern: Vogue Dress 1449
Description:
Lined, sleeveless dress (close-fitting through bust and fitted through hips) has neck band, jewel neckline, seam detail, drop-waist, pleated flounce, bias armhole band and invisible back zipper.
Fabric used:Β Cotton Sateen from Britex Fabrics in San Francisco

As soon as I saw this Vogue pattern I knew I wanted to make it because of all of the amazing drop waist patterns out there. One of my absolute favourite drop waist versions is House of Pinheiro’s Saiph Tunic.

So this pattern itself was really easy to make and didn’t have too many pattern pieces like Vogue normally does. For sizing I ended up cutting a 10 but I had to take it in about two sizes. So I would suggest doing a muslin first because you’ll probably find it to be quite a large fit.Β Especially with this stretch cotton sateen.

vogue1449-4

I had originally cut out two versions to make but because of my hourglass figure I wasn’t sure about the fit and if it suited my body shape. Only because the pleats didn’t sit straight down like the model photo but that could have been because of my fabric choice. I also had to take it in quite a lot to try and taper it around my stomach and bust.

I was still umming and arring so I sent a pic of me wearing it to my girlfriends (since they’ve all been my helpful sewing critics lately) all they told me, yes it looks great! I still wasn’t sure so I sent it to my very honest, very awesome male friend who replied with, “You’re a skinny runt, it looks awesome”. LOL. Okay, thanks Tim, I’ll make the second one now, haha. So stay tuned for that version πŸ™‚

vogue1449

vogue1449-2

vogue1449-3

vogue1449-5

Also, as you can see from the photos it’s quite short! So if you’re wanting a bit of length added to it you’ll need to include that before cutting it out. I am so in love with this fabric and had been dying to use it. I purchased it when I went to San Francisco in 2015 and met up with the beautiful Ping from Peneloping! I seriously can’t believe how much things have changed since then and how quickly time flies.

All in all, I think this is an amazing pattern. I do think it would suit the more rectangle shaped figures, unless you do what I did and fit it quiteΒ close to your body.

Happy Sewing! Erin x

Leave a Reply

