Butterick 5949 Dress

Pattern: Butterick 5949 Dress
Description: Lined dress has close-fitting, pleated, bias front bodice variations, waistband, and invisible back zipper.
Fabric used: Watercolour blue combed cotton found on Spoonflower

I am a pretty big fan of Spoonflower fabrics, even selling a few designs online myself on my Sixteen Stitches Shop. You can go through the designs and make a favourites gallery of all the fabrics you love. These are fabrics that at times you just can’t find in store and if you can get really creative you can even make the fabric yourself!

The blue water colour fabric below by Joan McLemore is one of my favourites, which I’ve now purchased a few times for different dresses.

butterick-5949-5

The Butterick 5949 dress has also been one of my favourite dress patterns and I’ve actually reused the skirt in some of my mash ups, including my Oh La La Lace Dress. I made this dress back in 2013 for a friends wedding and received quite a few compliments on the colour and style.

butterick-5949-4

When I looked up the link to the pattern I was surprised that it’s now out of print because it was one of those really amazing patterns that fit well and was very easy to sew. I think at the time I would have made about three different versions.

butterick-5949

I actually also really loved this dress because the sleeves fit really well, which isn’t typical for these types of patterns including very short, capped sleeves. I say this only because I have wider shoulders, so at times the patterns can pull if they don’t allow for this.

butterick-5949-2

butterick-5949-3

Overall it was a really great pattern and I highly recommend it if you can find it online as a download or paper copy.

Happy Sewing! Erin x

One thought on “Butterick 5949 Dress

  1. Pingback: More Lekala Dresses | sixteen stitches

Leave a Reply

