Ooh La La Lace Mash Up Dress

Dress pattern: I’d love to be able to give you a pattern for this dress but it’s a huge mash up of different pattern pieces. I’ve basically drawn the front myself because I wanted something a bit ooh.. la la.
Fabric: Lace overlay, cotton lining.

lekala-lace-03

One of my goals for 2017 was to make myself a really gorgeous, sexy, ooh la la lace dress, which was inspired from this Hello Molly lace dress below. I’m totally committed to doing all the things I’ve wanted to do this year, even making a 2017 Pinterest bucket list!

studio_session_161028-406
Hello Molly Dress

I had a heap of really fun events over summer that I wanted to wear something new and pretty to. This was a good challenge for me because I had never really worked with lace in the past. I also had never inserted an invisible zipper, which proved to be really easy and perfect for this dress. I can now say I have mastered putting those in, hooray!

lekala-lace-01

lekala-lace-02

So I made the black version below to celebrate a night out with my friends, which they planned and organised for me. It was a year’s anniversary of me being single and out of a pretty terrible, long-term relationship.

lekala-lace-04

Some of you may have read my previous blog, ‘I Heart Fabric’ where I posted about inspiration on weddings, dresses, decorations and other similar topics. To think only a year later I would be posting this on a brand new blog is kind of funny but it was a decision I didn’t take lightly. So to celebrate, my friends and family who have been right from the start threw me a huge celebratory dinner, drinks and night out in Brisbane.

It’s funny how amazing a year can make to a person’s life and being on my own I’ve realised how much stronger I am now, growing more and more confident in myself. I’m loving my own place with the pugs, my new friends and also meeting people I never would have dreamed of meeting. It’s been an incredible journey for me and I really can’t wait to see what’s in store this year.

lekala-lace-05

lekala-lace-06

lekala-lace-07

So now I have the perfect little black and white dress, to suit all types of occasions! Here is a photo of my night out with all my girlfriends wearing this pretty oh la la lace dress. 🙂

15338319_916216991848568_1568412070976684032_n

Oh and one of the puggies in my ‘not so new’ place haha.

img_0253

x Erin x

5 thoughts on “Ooh La La Lace Mash Up Dress

  1. Pingback: Butterick 5949 Dress | sixteenstitches

  2. Hi Erin, Congrats on your new part of your life! I followed you on your last blog (really missed it when it went down) and am so happy you came back. I know how hard big life changing events like that are, but like you said, you come out stronger and happier in the end.
    You definitely succeeded in making Oh la la lace dresses! These are amazing, as usual. Can’t wait to see more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Kat, that’s so nice of you to say! It has been a huge year and I’m really excited to get back into sewing and also being inspired by what everyone else has been making. The sewing community is something I have really been wanting to get back into! Everyone is always so lovely and helpful. Looking forward to an exciting new year!! 🙂 Happy sewing xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

