Quilts, Sewing and Paintings

After finding out that my older sister was pregnant in 2013 with her first child (the first baby in our family) I wanted to make something that I thought she would love for her little boy to have. Therefore, I decided to get a whole heap of Mickey Mouse themed presents since we grew up with Disney. It never seems to go out of style either so hopefully it’s something he can keep forever.

MickeyQuilt
I ended up getting a basic quilt design going with blue, red and white themed to match the Disney characters. If you enjoy creating projects like this, your can purchase Brother Disney embroidery machine’sΒ specifically for the Disney embroidery design range.

This 1.5m x 1.5m was the perfect size for her to put in her cot or to use in her playroom.Β Since the quilt only took about two weekends to complete I ended up having enough time to paint her a Mickey Mouse canvas, to match all the presents. Painting has always been something I’ve really loved doing so this was fun just in itself.

Mickey_Mouse_Painting

This was an oil painting I did below, which was the first time I’d ever used this type of media. I was in love with Leonid Afremov’s paintings so I thought he would be a great artist to learn from. He even had a movie on how he made it, which was great for beginner oil users like myself.

IMG_3658

I’ve always loved Roy Lichtenstein so when I first moved out of home over ten years ago I painted this double canvas below to match his ‘Girl with Hair Ribbon c1965’ artwork.

one1.jpg

So you can imagine when our work decided to do a 50’s dress up Christmas party I couldn’t resist making my own popart dress and painted my face to match.

Pop-Art-Sewing.jpg

Pop-Art-Sewing-2

My most recently painting is actually a set of angel wings, which I completed on a local coffee shop wall. This was such an amazing experience, especially because they kept feeding me every time I was there and their food is amazing. It was also a great excuse for all my friends to come down and visit. Having posted it on my Instagram I’m now getting my own friends, plus some people I haven’t seen in over 5 years send their selfie photos, saying how much they love it which is pretty cool too.

Angel-Wings-Coconut

I hope you’ve enjoyed!

Happy sewing, crafting, painting or quilting!

Erin xx

 

4 thoughts on “Quilts, Sewing and Paintings

    • Thank you so much Emily!! πŸ™‚ We’ll have to hunt down some cool grafitti art for you in Kansas!! Although there is plenty here in Australia if you ever make the trip over πŸ™‚ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

