My Sewing Archive

It’s crazy to think I’ve been sewing now for a little over five years. I first started my old blog back in 2012 and that was to showcase learning how to sew, discovering new patterns, testing and trialling different fabrics and making heaps of mistakes! However, without going through that process I never would have been able to learn what fabric types I liked the most and what pattern styles suited my body shape. I was also able to learn the basics of sewing including how to cut a pattern, how to following instructions, how to use my machine and importantly, how to modify patterns to suit my own figure. Even though I still make mistakes, I’m more confident in my pattern and fabric choice to be able to create outfits that I’m proud of wearing.

Vogue8280_1

So I thought I would showcase some of my first sewing projects, some I wore, and some I basically took straight down to the local op-shop. However, I feel that no matter what, it was a great learning experience being able to discover a fun and rewarding hobby.

Luckily, I even made a glossary of what these patterns were and can now look back and indicate what patterns I would love to resew in my current sizing.


I believe this process of learning how to sew is a really important one. You might start off with smaller patterns including children’s clothing, toys, quilts, tops and dresses like I did. Either way, you have to be patient and keep persisting in achieving what you want out of this hobby. I started out on a Janome 6260, which is still running strong and now I’m sewing with aΒ Brother NV1300, which I absolutely love.

These days there are some really great resources available to help everyone excel at this hobby. Some of the beautiful books that helped me learn how to sew included the Colette Sewing Handbook, Vogue Sewing, The BurdaStyle Handbook, Love at first stitch and so many more! Plus, there are endless pattern companies out there to suit all types of body shapes. When I first started sewing I actually found it difficult to find a modern, young style of pattern but now we’re spoilt for choice, with indie pattern companies popping up everywhere. With the addition of Craftsy online learning and Youtube it’s so much easier to learn how to sew without spending anything (apart from fabric and notions of course)!

4 thoughts on “My Sewing Archive

    • Thanks Chris πŸ™‚ I just still had all of the photos so I thought I would Photoshop the pattern numbers and fabric type onto them. I am sure I had plenty more but these would have been my first year of sewing.

      Like

  1. I love this post!! I think I might borrow the idea and write my own version. πŸ™‚ I love to look back at where I’ve been. And thanks for the reminder about Vogue 1220!! I loved that dress then and I love it now! I need to see if I have it in my pattern stash. I know I’ve never made it, but it would be great for work.

    Like

    • Thanks Emily πŸ™‚ I know there are so many good vogue patterns I was even thinking I might pull out a few myself. I loved Vogue 1236 because it was so comfy but great for work too. Look forward to reading your blog and seeing your creations!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

